Father forgive me…I didn’t know

Today I made a grave mistake.  I was feeling lazy and tired this morning and just thought that I would take the lazy way out of being original in my prayers.  I was flipping through the channels and came across the Catholic channel.  They were praying the rosary so I joined along so that I would have my prayers in for the day.  How pitiful was I…

It weighed heavy on my heart though.  Then I added fuel to the fire because my little girl has been asking about prayers and how to pray.  Without even thinking about it I told her about praying the rosary and how it could make praying easier for her.  Something started to really tug on my heart and I felt a conviction that I couldn’t shake. 

I did some research on the rosary and what I came up with left me astounded and I had to immediately ask God for His forgiveness and furthermore, I showed my daughter what I found and we prayed together about it.  I may offend some people and I certainly may step on my toes but I will stand by the Word of God.

This is the information that I found on the rosary and a link to the site to give credit to the writer:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100228065319AAzMtGi

 

1. The Bible forbids pagan ritualism. The Rosary was adopted from pagan practice and consists of repetitious prayers. The Bible forbids this type of thing in no uncertain terms: “But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking. Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him” (Mt. 6:7,8).

2. The Bible says there is ONE Mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus (1 Ti. 2:5,6). Jesus Christ, and Jesus Christ alone, is our High Priest to bring us to God (He. 8:1,2; 9:11-14). Part of the Rosary consists of prayers offered to Mary. This is unscriptural blasphemy.

3. The wording of the Rosary is blasphemous. To address Mary as “Holy Mary” is wickedness. This title is not fitting for a fallen human being. The “the Holy One” is a title frequently used of God in Scripture (Is. 1:4; 5:19,24; 6:3; 10:17,20; 12:6; 17:7; 29:19,23; 30:11,12,15,29; 31:1; 37:23; 40:25; 41:14,16,20; 43:3,14,15; 45:11; 47:4; 48:17; 49:7; 54:5; 55:5; 57:15; 60:9,14; Je. 50:29; 51:5; Eze. 39:7; Ho. 11:9; Hab. 1:12; 3:3; Lk. 1:49). His name is “holy” (Is. 57:15). The Bible tells us that God is jealous for His Holy name (Eze. 39:25). Jesus Christ is called the “Holy One” (Lk. 4:34; Ac. 2:37; 3:14; 13:35). While men are called holy in Scripture in the sense of sanctified unto God (Mk. 6:20; Ac. 3:21), the term “holy” is NEVER used as a title for a fallen man. Further, to address Mary as the Mother of God is also blasphemous. She was not the mother of God and is never addressed as such in the Bible. She was the mother of Christ’s humanity, but Jesus Christ has been God for all eternity and the Godhead has no motherhood.

Further, to address Mary as “full of grace” is blasphemy. Only Jesus Christ is said to be full of grace. “And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. … And of his fullness have all we received, and grace for grace” (Jn. 1:14,16). Mary is said to be “highly favored” and “blessed among women,” but this is a very different thing from being full of grace. The only grace Mary has is the grace she received from Jesus Christ in the salvation from her sin. She acknowledged that God is her “Savior” (Lk. 1:47).

It is my prayer to never grow lazy in my walk with God.  It is not some menial task that I have to do daily.  Prayer time is a time for me to shower Him with adoration because I love Him and how wonderful and awesome and mighty He is.  Prayer time is a time for me to confess it all to Him because He loved me so much He gave His only Son that through Him I might not perish but have life everlasting.  Prayer time is a time for me to give thanks for all that He has done for me and for saving me from the pits of hell.  Prayer time is a time for me come before Him and ask Him for the things I need.  Even though He knows before I ask this is our time of communion.  I will never take our prayer time together for granted again.

Leave a Reply

