Christmas Joy

On December 13th, our newest addition, a grandson graced us with his presence. He came kicking and screaming into this world like a mighty spark. His name is Kairo but my girlfriend has us all calling him Pyro because she says he’s going to light up the world! He has already lit up our world.  His big sister, Marlye is confounded by his presence. I had hoped that she would be smitten but she’s quite jealous of him.  She has reverted into baby-ish behavior which I have since learned is quite normal for a two year old. She wants to suck on his pacifier and use a bottle (which she hasn’t been on a bottle since before she was one).

My Honey, Kim arrived in town this morning. We will be celebrating the holidays with my family for our first time. It’s a year of many firsts-some good and some bad. I’ll have to say that overall the good definitely outweighed the bad. Even when things were tough she stood right beside me, encouraged me, held me up, made me smile and laugh, occasionally pissed me off or made me cry but the one thing she never did was give up on me or for that matter, She NEVER Gave Up On US!!! I don’t know if words could ever convey the love that I feel for her but I will spend the rest of my life trying to show her how much I love and appreciate her. That woman is like no one that I have ever known. She’s my once in a lifetime love, a keeper for life.

This Christmas is going to be one of my children’s best ever! For years while I was going through my fight to get disability we were destitute and even homeless for stretches at a time. For three long years we went without many things. The first year we spent living in a homeless shelter for battered women. I was so sad and depressed because my son couldn’t be with us since he was a male. It was so heartbreaking to be without all my children together. The second year of the disability battle we had to move in with a relative. I was grateful for a place to stay but things did not go over very well. There seem to be conflict after conflict especially where our food was involved but we survived. The third year saw us living with yet again another relative and again it was disastrous. We survived cockroaches, mildew, mold and bedbugs. But this year we finally gained our victory! We still are not all under one roof but that’s because my son is an adult with two kids of his own now. He will be joining us along with visiting our two grandchildren and watch the two year old’s eyes light up as she opens her gifts from her favorite grandmas! We are just over the moon about things finally looking up this year and getting even better next year.

All those who helped me and prayed with me and for me I was able to be a blessing to them for once. It’s truly been a year of miracles for me. Not all miracles were what I was expecting but God knew what He was doing. I kept thinking that I was going to receive a healing in my body but the healing that I received was in my spirit. I’ll take that over a physical healing any day. You can’t buy peace of mind but to be blessed with peace of mind far outweighs anything. I’m loved and I have so much love to give. I’m thankful for each day that I’m blessed to wake up and see another day. This joy that I have the world (money) didn’t give it to me and the world can’t take it away!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tikeetha T says:

    Yay! Congrats sis! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kissing Fish says:

      I hope that you had a great Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tikeetha T says:

        I did sis. Happy New Year!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

